Keep your ears open and your mouth shut

As you enter the house of God, keep your ears open and your mouth shut!

Ecclesiastes 5:1 (NLT)

Wow!  Direct and to the point, but I needed to read that.  For me taking time to just listen and keep my mouth shut is one way in which I can grow in my relationship with God.  This is a discipline that stretches me because by nature I am a doer and I find a certain amount of comfort in knowing that I did something that I can look back on and say I read that or took time to fast this.  When I just take time to listen it’s hard to look back and see what was accomplished.  But this is precisely what I need because it is not about accomplishing something but creating a place where I can better connect with God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

