Lesson’s from Leviticus

The Lord called to Moses and spoke to him from the Tent of Meeting.  He said, “Speak to the Israelites and say to them: ‘When any of you brings an offering to the Lord, bring as your offering an animal from either the herd or the flock.'” – Leviticus 1:1-2 (NIV)

As I have been reading through the book of Leviticus one of the main ideas that stuck out to me was that God is very concerned about how we approach Him.  When we worship God we are to approach Him on His terms not ours.  At the beginning of this book the God tells Israel that when they bring an offering is must be done in a certain way and as we go through Leviticus there are different types of offerings each with specific steps.  Now we can easily get caught up in the gruesomeness of the offerings brought or lost in all the details that are given and totally miss the deeper point of what I think God was trying to communicate.

God is holy, blameless, righteous, powerful, just and perfect.  Now I could go on an on, but you get the point.  If God is all of these things should we not be careful in how we approach Him?  In our worship should we not be more concerned with what He desires than our own personal preferences?  This is what I think God is after in the book of Leviticus.  When I look at all of the steps given and sacrifices that are prescribed it makes me stop.  I think about who God is and I realize that many times the worship I bring does not fit the honor that He is due.

Our prayer every day should be this, “God, as I worship You today what would be pleasing to You?”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

